My Love for the Spurs… Beyond Basketball. (Part 1)

I don’t consider myself a casual San Antonio Spurs fan. Sure, I haven’t had the chance to attend a live game and I haven’t watched 100% of their games.

But I love them. I get affected when they lose, especially during the playoffs. I feel terrible and I pretty much lose my appetite when they do.

I love them more than Basketball. I love them more than I can love any other team in all Sports combined

Here’s Why.

MORE THAN ABOUT BASKETBALL. When asked about winning the championship this year, here’s what Spurs coach Greg Popovich has to say.

Win the championship? I don’t know, but it’s not a priority in my life. I’d be much happier if I knew that my players were going to make society better, who had good families and who took care of the people around them. I’d get more satisfaction out of that than a title. I would love to win another championship, and we’ll work our butts off to try and do that. But we have to want more than success in our jobs. That’s why we’re here. We’re here so you’ll understand that you can overcome obstacles by being prepared and if you educate the hell out of yourself. If you become respectful, disciplined people in this world, you can fight anything. If you join with each other and you believe in yourself and each other, that’s what matters. That’s what we want to relay to you all: that we believe that about you or we wouldn’t be here.

He’s more than just a coach. This guy is a hero. A well-mannered human being worthy of being role model for everybody. That’s the kind of mindset that most in the Spurs organization have. That’s the kind of person who leads this team. That’s the kind of person I want to be.

WINNING. Don’t be fooled though. This team wants to win. I haven’t checked my facts but as far as I know, the Spurs have the best win-lose record in the entire NBA since 1997 when they drafted Tim Duncan.

TEAM. The Spurs has always been about team basketball. They have Tim Duncan for around 20 years and now, Kawhi Leonard as their Superstar player. But the Spurs will always have a “man up” mentality where when someone goes down, another one rises up. They’re not about individual awards, MVP’s, personal stats etc. They’re all about winning as a team and losing graciously as a team. I want this to translate in my life and in everything I do. It’s always for the betterment of my family, my business, my friends and everybody else around me. It’s not about “me, me & me.”

In the next part, I’ll talk more about Spurs and the actual game itself. The organization, the players, the history, the plays and why I (and how I got to) love all of that.

Leave a Reply

